Loud Animals

elephant-1

I came across this wonderful fabric during winter on clearance at Fabric.com and finally got around to working with it.

 crab1

This one is going to hang in a local crab restaurant “Crab Crazy at Friendship Farm” in Amityville.  They are nuts for crab decorations so I asked Tim, who works there (7 days a week !) to hang a crabby quilt and my info.  And, because he’s such a nice guy, he said “Of course!”

People seem to shy away from quilts because of the traditional hanging method.  I agree that it’s kind of a pain in the butt.  You need a level, some sort of brackets to hold the pole, wall anchors for the screws…  Worth it for a large piece but for small quilts I came up with this method in the pic below. elephant-3

First, instead of a sleeve, I use triangles, which is common enough.  But to display at The Gallery on High, the art must have a wire hanger.  So I now attach a wire loop on the dowel which makes it very easy to hang and balance.

elephant-2

detail of elephant

crab-15

detail of quilting with the gold metallic thread

These quilts were so much fun to work with.  I got a simple system working and plan put this style on my Custom Made page.

Update on Jody’s Quilt

Hard to believe but Jody finally got her quilt!  It was a little more than a week ago.  The USPS somehow destroyed it.  They offered no explanation.  Then there was some run-around…  In the time that passed, poor Jody was in the midst of all of those crazy storms down south.  I gave it a little time to make sure the quilt would arrive safe.  In the email she sent, she sounded very happy and said she was testing the quilt against every wall, windows and mirrors- because it’s transparent.

bzuazua-ST-grow

Jody’s Quilt.  I asked her to pick one of my other quilts since her first one was destroyed in the mail.

Dolls to new homes:

Audrianna’s  doll arrived safe and sound.  This is the little girl with PWS.  She loves her new SkyGirl doll and named her Maggy.

Another SkyGirl went to a 3 year old girl.  She named her doll G. G. for her great grandma.  She’s called G.G. for “Gorgeous Grandma”.  Love that!  I love all the neat names that people come up with for grandparents!

IMAG0155      Blossom-3

Maggy and G.G.

This is going to be a great sewing week!  Finally spring time temperatures!

Sew-4-Ever!

bzuazua-copyright-notice

4 responses to “Loud Animals

  1. Thanks for posting a photo of the quilt. I now have it hanging against a white wall in the hallway where I can pass and pause with it often. It is so full of color, texture, transparency. So intricate and exquisitely crafted … Hard to capture the beauty in a photo but you did a pretty good job. I’m a lucky woman to have won that drawing. Thanks again!

  2. 🙂 you’re awesome Jody! I’m glad it’s in the *perfect* home.

  3. Love your Loud Animals quilts! Very fun and festive. Thanks for sharing that clever hanging technique. That makes so much sense for people who have traditionally hung framed work and aren’t used to quilter’s “sleeves” for hanging.

  4. Thanks Cyn. Hanging quilts is absolutely the biggest problem with getting quilts into people’s homes, in my opinion. I hear it all the time when I’m showing or selling. I also do a split sleeve on larger quilts and if it’s not too heavy, a wire will still work. XO!!

Leave a Reply

